Can I do ATS solos successfully?

This topic contains 4 replies, has 0 voices, and was last updated by  Anonymous 5 years, 8 months ago.

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author

Anonymous

Originally posted by aimee on tribe.net.Hello, I am pondering this question because I really want to learn ATS but dont have anyone who teaches this locally. The only teacher we have nearby focuses on Egyptian and Ive been working with her for 21/2 years. Ive been working with FCBD dvds and havent had much success getting anyone to partner up with me. I have taken ATS workshops when they are available and will at some point consider traveling to out of town classes, but would like to know what your opinions are in doing an occasional solo piece with ATS only?

Anonymous

Originally posted by Margaret on tribe.net.Its generally thought of as a group dance, but Ive seen Carolena and Nancy Young (a Los Angeles dancer) do solos beautifully, using only ATS vocabulary, so it is possible.

Anonymous

Originally posted by Carrie on tribe.net.You can think of it as fusion. As a solo you just dont have the need for specific cuing, specific performance angle, etc. Since you dont have to communicate with anyone, you can face any direction, spin without cues, that kind of thing. Which makes the dance become fusion. Which is totally legitimate and acceptable. br/Mimis dvd, Tribal Revival has some info. on it about taking ATS moves into solo performance.

Anonymous

Originally posted by aimee on tribe.net.I just got her dvd! Im really excited to get started on it!Thanks!

Anonymous