Hand position & technique

This topic contains 3 replies, has 0 voices, and was last updated by  Anonymous 3 years, 8 months ago.

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author

Anonymous

Newbie here with a question about technique and proper hand position. I have been dancing ATS style for about three years now,  two of them with a group ladies. We live in a remote area that is 2-3 hours away from the nearest sister studio or FCBD GS certified instructors, so all of our practice and drills come exclusively from the FCBD video series and the drills on YouTube. The lack of an actual in class instructor can be a real challenge when we aren't sure about certain things, or we see slight variations in technique on the dvds and performance videos (which we watch religiously). The most common thing we run in to is hand positions, especially with Chico 4 Corners and the Egyptian. In the Vol 7 DVD, it looks like Carolena's right hand extends out nearly flat, or slightly palm out during the first &third corner, and her left hand extends more palm out during the second & fourth corner. However in the performance on the DVD & many other performances and drills, we notice it being performed with the back of the hand (right &left) facing out for all four corners, or sometimes alternating with the back of the hand out for first and third and palm facing out for second and fourth.The Egyptian is harder to explain, but we see it being performed with both palms always facing in, and with alternating palms facing in and palms facing out. None of us in our group seems to be able to agree and consistently follow the same technique and as a result, feel like we are not progressing forward.My question is, are different hand positions simply variations in technique that are all perfectly acceptable? Or is there a preferred/correct hand position that we should practicing toward? Our goal as a group is to eventually attend a FCBD workshop and take the General Skills class. However,