Name Origin of Movements

This topic contains 7 replies, has 0 voices, and was last updated by  Anonymous 5 years, 9 months ago.

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author

Anonymous

Originally posted by Diana on tribe.net.Ive been dancing ATS for a couple of years and currently working towards my certifications, but I never wonder how the moves got their names.. I have always accepted that similar moves will have different names depending on the style of belly dancing. LIke the Taxeem or the Arabic. Now Im obsessively curious. br/br/I know this topic has been posted several years back, but Im hoping that a current discussion will bring in more insight. If anyone knows how the Taxeem got its name in particular, I would greatly appreciate it! And, perhaps, sleep better at night. br/br/Thanks!

Anonymous

Originally posted by Diana on tribe.net.There are references to origins of some of the moves in Carolenas Tribal Talk. I believe the word Taxeem means slow and the ATS Taxeem is very slow. That may be why its named that.

Anonymous

Originally posted by Erika on tribe.net.Hi Diana, Im a curious person too :). I asked myself a long time ago, and was told by a beautiful Oriental Dance teacher that "taxeem" is actually a musical term that indicates that tipical slow intro of the instruments, before getting to the actual song. This part is improvised, and builds athmosphere and drama. The dancer cant just predict where the next beat will be, so she uses slow, serpentine moves, and a hip vertical eight it comes very handy. She can try to follow the swirls of the music by accelerating or slowing down the curves of the eight. The vertical eight became a tipical move seen during the "Taxeem", so dancers started to call the move "Taxeem". Im not sure if all of this is accurate, but thats what I know about it 🙂

Anonymous