teaching ATS

This topic contains 42 replies, has 0 voices, and was last updated by  Anonymous 6 years, 5 months ago.

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 43 total)
  • Author

Anonymous

Originally posted by Annie on tribe.net.Ive been teaching bellydance for about 3 years now. Mostly fusion, but a bit of Orientale, too.br/About three years ago (just as I was getting started teaching) I feel madly in love with ATS. I didnt know enough to teach it, however, so in time I took GS and TT. I only taught ATS to the dancers I was already working with. We knew each other fairly well and they were patient with me while I struggled to learn to teach ATS.br/They picked it up fairly quickly and weve been dancing together (ATS) for almost two years now.br/br/Now, I have a problem. I started offering Level I classes. A 6-week long session to get new dancers started in ATS. The problem is this: I cannot keep students. I KNOW this style is not for everyone and I expected to lose students; it happens in every class. But, right now my drop-out rate for ATS is probably around 98%. With other classes, I dont have any problems. I think my students genuinely enjoy classes and always seem excited to be there.br/br/ I cannot keep new students interested in ATS Level I. My upper Level ATS students are like me -- falling more and more in love with it everyday. I have taught a workshop (out-of-town) on ATS Duets and I really believe it went well.br/I dont think Im a bad teacher and I feel like Im enthusiastic in class. br/I had hoped to eventually be an exclusively ATS studio. Really and truly thats where I want to focus. But my complete failure in keeping Level I students is frustrating. I keep the other classes going so I can pay studio rent.br/br/My question is this: How do you teach your Level I class? And do you feel like you can cover the standard Level I curriculum in 6-weeks time? (I often feel like maybe Im rushing my students.)br/What do you do to keep classes fun for the students?